Court in Kyiv sentences eight Tornado police squad members to long imprisonment

The commander of the Tornado battalion Ruslan Onishchenko during a training exercise.

Photo by Courtesy

Kyiv’s Obolonsky district court has sentenced former head of the disbanded Tornado taskforce police squad of the chief department of the Interior Ministry of Ukraine in Luhansk region Ruslan Onyschenko, his deputy Mykola Tsukur and six more members of the squad to long imprisonment, and suspended sentences for more four members.

An Interfax-Ukraine correspondent has reported that Onyschenko was sentenced to 11 years in jail, Tsukur – nine years, Belarusian citizen Daniil Lyashuk – 10 years, Ilya Kholod nine years and a half, Borys Hulchuk, Maksym Hlebov and Mykyta Kust – nine years each, and Anatoliy Plamadiala – eight.

Yuriy Shevchenko, Roman Ivash, Andriy Demchuk and Mykyta Svyrydovsky were sentenced to five years in jail with the three year probation period for Shevchenko and two years for the rest three Tornado squad members.

Monthly plan

Get unlimited article access, anytime, anywhere.


Yearly plan

Access all the exclusive content on KyivPost.com and the complete online archive.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!